FPS Drops

Created 15th October 2009 @ 19:12

Add A Reply Pages: 1 2 Next »

ZeyOrk

•Core 2 Duo P8600 2,40 GHz
•4 GB DDR3 RAM
•ATI 4670 1 GB
•320 GB HDD

The first thing I did was to fire up Team Fortress 2, of course! The first 30 mins of gameplay: Awesomeness, my best TF2 experience ever, amazing graphics, v-sync off, AA on 2x- simply amazing… but after these 30 wonderful mins I suddenly had some FPS lag, for 5 seconds, then back to normal for a bit, then lag again and so on… now what is this? I just bought a Zalman NC2000 in hope of making the gameplay better and avoid these FPS drops. This has to be underclocking issues right? Can I achieve lower temps by undervolting my CPU/GPU? I have never done that before and I would be amazingly happy if someone with the same laptop could help me.

I just hope the Zalman will work things out, otherwise I’m throwing this laptop away – I can barely touch the palm rests while I’m gaming!

Thanks in advance for all answers

Btw. The zalman-cooler doesnt work. I have tried newer drivers, both gpu, bios, everything that there is. So annoying, coming from uni and want to play some kick-ass games and annoy kodyl on pickups, but no, just keeps ruining the game. It happens so random, at important places in the game.

Last edited by ZeyOrk,

AnimaL

surely if its overheating it will crashchange cpu speed to not get dmged

try opening laptop, cleaning it, clearing all the fans… my mom had a laptop that got completly full of cats fur inside the fan, so much of it, that it was halted…. just cleared that out and was as good as new…

Last edited by AnimaL,

Skyride

DUCS

If a CPU heats to temperature where it will cause damage, it auto shuts down. Im sure its 130c for the Core2’s, i’d assume its the same for i7/5. It definately sounds like overheating to me though, of the graphics card kind.

Under-volting is a bad idea. The only time you under-volt a CPU is when you also underclock it.

Last edited by Skyride,

ZeyOrk