Forum

Casts for cash?

Created 8th March 2013 @ 14:07

Add A Reply Pages: 1 2 Next »

Black_Bob

[DA]

Have I been missing something or is this service available and just not publicized.

Currently there is a large amount of casts going on between tf2.tv and vanilla tf2, but before the emergence of competition there were slightly fewer casts with casters stating they were too busy/real life.

Also currently only high skill games are casted which I can fully understand for the wider audience’s entertainment.

But it makes me think that a market is being missed, would casters be happy to cast matches if there was a small money incentive to cover a lower skill game, I have no experience in casting but on average there are usually 2 casters and 1 cameraman on a decent top flight cast.

I’m sure a price scheme could be worked out that is mutually acceptable for both sides the teams who want to be casted and the casters themselves, where they charge per map/game or per hour.

Casters would charge different prices depending on how popular they are etc etc, but maybe some ballpark figures could be £5 for a solo person casting a match/hour or £20- £30 for 2 casters + a cameraman, ok so were talking very little money for an hour of someone’s/a teams time yet it would add up, if a caster was motivated and solo casted four matches over a week that’s a few drinks in the weekend paid for, upkeep of his/her/their website or new equipment which would of otherwise not been purchased.

When competitions/leagues get to the late stages in the lower divisions and crunch matches decide who get promoted from div4 to 5 for example teams may be willing to pay to have the match casted, currently there is a no way to get a cast except a small chance that some community member may do it for free but there is no guarantee they will cast anything you send them since there is no incentive.