Forum

What makes a good 5cp map?

Created 22nd August 2013 @ 02:23

Add A Reply Pages: 1

Smyther

X

Lately I’ve been liking gullywash less and less, which is odd because a few years ago it was my absolute favourite map ever, kinda like how I’ve turned around with the QF, and so like everyone else and the QF, I’ve been idly dreaming up map designs. I’m half interested in just picking up hammer and seeing where things go like I’ve done with a lot of hobbies in the past.

But as an engineer I know design projects are not hobbies. Both involve learning new skills, but a hobby is all about the journey, whilst a design is all about the destination and it’s not worth even starting unless you have a clear goal and good understanding from day 1.

So before I even start trawling through threads like http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=21192 , what makes a good 5cp map? If I feel like I’ve gained a good enough understanding, I might hammer out a beta over the next month or so.

Is it important that the 5 point are roughly along a straight line (not many liked freight)? Must teams be forced to pass near the 2nd point like gran, or not so much, like gully?

I gather having 2nd and last close together, at least relative to forward spawns, are good; is it essential that spawn still be close to last? Does it just need to be one of them? Or either?

What makes a good rollout?

Process seems to be the best map in comp TF2, save maybe badlands (yes, I’m biased), what can I abstract away from those and use?

I like narrow ledges that give you an advantage but are easy to get knocked off (like gran last pipe, like gully has none of), I think they’re good for a map to have. Am I mistaken here?

I could go on all night but I’ll leave it here for now.

Last edited by Smyther,

SorroW

iveR
VDOH

wouldnt say process is the best 5cp comp map, too sniper friendly imo.

ash

(Legend)
:D