Forum

Technical Advice

Created 19th April 2011 @ 22:10

Add A Reply Pages: 1

Saro

epx^

Hello,

Looking for a bit of technical advice as I’m completely stumped on the problem I have. I’m running tf2 on a Compaq laptop with AMD Turion Duel-Core RM72 ~2.1GZ, Nvidia 8200M G card, and 4 gigs of ram on Windows 7 32-bit (Yes I know its a laptop and not great for games but I’m a very very skint student :) ). Now I reacon this should be able to run a game that is 4 years old. Currently I use Chris’ Max FPS config and in a 6v6 getting around 40-50fps which is fine and I’m okay with it.

The only problem is about once every 5 minutes I get an overheating problem that takes my fps down to 1-6fps and it becomes unplayable for anything between 30seconds toa minute depending on how far into a map we are. This is causing a lot of losses of rounds for my clan and I don’t know what to do.

I’ve tried updating drivers but the drivers on the Nvidia site that they suggest skip out pretty much the whole 8000 series. (I’m also a total idiot when it comes to PCs which doesn’t help at all).

Just wondering if anyone could help / suggest the correct drivers if there are any since I’m pretty sure its outdated drivers that’s the problem.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Saro

AnimaL

drivers wont help you there, that laptop is far from anywhere near the good specs to run tf2, even if game is so old, it still is one of the most cpu demanding games out in the market to be able to get stable 60fps and up

the main thing you can do – get xp

then get ur laptop cleaned and thermal pastes reinstalled, either by urself or get it done in some tech repair shop (usually costs 20-30 quid)

also use a book or smth like that to lift ur laptop above the desk to get more clean and cool air in it, it prevent overheating aswell

you can download any of the new nvidia control center drivers (266 and up) they should all work, no matter what gpu u have

Last edited by AnimaL,

Koeitje

AUTOBOTS