Forum

More traction and fresh blood for the competitive scene.

Created 20th May 2016 @ 15:07

Add A Reply Pages: 1

keylsior

Hello there, I am forwarding these thoughts because I am interested in bringing in innovating thoughts into the competitive scene better everyone’s experience, including mine. I have cross-posted these thoughts to:

– the tf2 and truetf2 subreddits (https://redd.it/4k7ck6 / https://redd.it/4k7dhp)
– the tf2stadium steam group (http://steamcommunity.com/groups/TF2Stadium/discussions/0/357286663678907922/)
– the etf2l.org forums (http://etf2l.org/forum/feedback/topic-32982/)

I am not experienced with competitive. This is a look from an outsider’s perspective, as someone who has barely looked at lobbies and never entered a season.

I have been wanting to play in a setting more serious than pub/community servers. But my intermittent availability (work, Internet via mobile data, home on weekends) make me consider against entering a fixed team.

I believe there are a lot of people who also can not afford to commit to a team or invest more time into TF2 and yet want to casually play competitive matches instead of screwing around on Valve or community servers.

Knowing about pick-up websites (tf2stadium.com and tf2center.com)

So I take a look at websites for pick-up matches (such as tf2lobby in the past, and currently tf2stadium.com and tf2center.com), and I find, there are a not a lot of players there and matches take long to fill up.

Putting aside that some people might not be interested in competitive, I would guess that not a lot of TF2 players know about those (new) websites and that they could use them to pick up other players and play in a more organized and competitive way.

Another further guess of mine is that people would stop checking these websites because they often don’t find a whole lot of lobbies going on.

Suggestions