Forum

TF2 AutoDemo | A program for auto-saving game demos

Created 20th July 2009 @ 14:45

Add A Reply Pages: 1 2 ... 5 Next »

DDgeva

First of all let me introduce myself.. My name is Geva Kipper and I’m a young Israeli programmer.

A couple of months ago I reached the conclusion that demo saving in TF2 just isn’t comfortable enough.
Many times good frags and crazy air-shots are missed because the player simply didn’t write “record”, and even if you caught something on tape it was hard to work with the demo because it’s very long.

Being an amateur programmer (I’m very young but I’ve been programming for 4 years), I decided to make an act, and build a program that makes the life of demo recorders and movie makers much easier.

After being tested for a month now, I’m releasing the program in an open-beta version.

I can assure you this doesn’t include any virus, nor will it harm your computer in any way.

So what does the program actually do?
The program takes care of demo recording, as it makes sure demos are ALWAYS recorded.
Recording is auto-started by the program when you respawn, and stopped when you die.
Obviously not all demos are saved permanently – Unless you tell the program to save a round’s demo permanently (see next sentence), the demo will be deleted.
If you killed an entire team, just press ‘P’ during that round, and the program will save the entire round’s demo as soon as you die.
If you hit a crazy mid-air just before you died, you can press ‘P’ up to 5 seconds after re-spawning (and obviously while you’re dead) to save the last round’s demo.
The program also has some extra useful features to make demo saving and managing simple and convenient.

This way, the program makes sure you’ll never miss a good play and you won’t have to go through long minutes of useless footage – instead you’ll have short (one round) demos.